How it all started…

The dream of my own vineyard…

I started my business in 1990 with the dream of owning my very own vineyard with grapes that would produce the highest quality red wines. Full of energy, I drove towards Italy with my caravan to look for a suitable property. This intention very quickly developed into a search for the infamous needle in a haystack. The more places I saw, the more I knew what I didn’t want. Least of all, a vineyard whose origins lie in industry or mass tourism.

I began to significantly expand my search radius. I traded the caravan for a plane, travelled countries, changed continents. Yet, intuitively I was always drawn to the vicinity of Rome. Here, I secretly hoped to find THE PLACE I had been longing for for so long: a historic vineyard overlooking the sea, nestled in peaceful, untouched nature, with grapes that would have the potential to contribute to wine history.

A critical tip from an old Italian professor ultimately led me to my goal. When he poured me a red wine that can only be grown on the Terra Nera “island” because of its high standards concerning suitable geological conditions, I knew from the first drop: I had made it! I had finally reached the taste experience that I had been meticulously searching for for over a decade.

Another happy moment was when I saw Terra Nera for the first time. I was inspired by the way that with each meter these hilly, partly densely-wooded, one million square meters extended further and further before my eyes. I gained a profound respect for the challenge that was awaiting me here.

In 2001, I was able to buy the first 48 hectares of Terra Nera land with an old farmhouse perched on its central hill. Over the years I have acquired all 100 hectares of the Terra Nera “island” with a lot of empathy and understanding for the concerns of the local farmers, but also thanks to sensitive negotiating skills.

I feel that the gift of having found Terra Nera is so precious that, for me, it has become a project that will be close to my heart for the rest of my life.

– Christian Sprenger

There was a lot to do…

Let’s do this!

There were many long and tedious preparatory steps from the initial idea to its implementation. The main hurdles involved obtaining all the necessary permits (e.g. for the required excavations). Even when buying the wine rights for the 28 hectares of new plantations, it really took a lot of entrepreneurial spirit to get them issued – let alone approved.

First of all, the entire infrastructure of the “island” had to be redeveloped and stabilised with the ultimate goal of creating a premium winery on Terra Nera. The main aim was to create more areas suitable for wine-growing. This important step required years of large-scale, costly and energy-consuming construction work.

However, step by step, a unique world of its own was created at Terra Nera thanks to an abundance of loving and painstakingly detailed work.

The island’s uneven surface was straightened over long stretches in order to round off and cultivate eight plots of land. From 2006 to 2011 all the vineyards have been replanted with Sangiovese, Syrah, Cabernet Sauvignon and Cabernet Franc grape varieties.

More than 300 sun-hungry olive trees and cypresses decorate Terra Nera with their nutritious fruits. Two 100 m deep wells guarantee the water supply, which is computer controlled and routed completely underground, ensuring that even the rearmost vineyard is adequately supplied.

The stones obtained from grading the soil were used to build roads and fences in accordance with traditional Tuscan designs using environmentally friendly methods.

The entire energy supply is also managed underground. With no visual disturbing power pylons, every Terra Nera visitor quickly dives into the breathtaking Tuscan nature and enjoys the unspoiled, fantastic view.

More than 25 years have passed since my search for a suitable property to the present day enabling the cultivation of Terra Nera alongside nature and allowing the rooted vines to reach their perfect maturity.

As the spark for the vision of reviving Terra Nera as a wine-growing region reached local authorities the project also received significant local support.

All this, on this scale, would be unthinkable today, not only in Tuscany.

Wie alles begann…

Der Traum vom eigenen Weinberg…

Mit dem Traum von meinem eigenen Weinberg, dessen Trauben mir die hochwertigsten Rotweine kredenzen, startete ich 1990 meine Unternehmung. Voller Tatendrang fuhr ich mit dem Wohnwagen Richtung Italien, um dort nach einem geeigneten Objekt Ausschau zu halten. Dieses Vorhaben kristallisierte sich sehr schnell zu einer Suche nach der berühmten Nadel im Heuhaufen. Je mehr ich sah, desto mehr wusste ich, was ich nicht wollte. Am wenigsten einen Weinberg, dessen Hintergrund auf Industrie oder Massentourismus basiert.

Ich begann, meinen Suchradius deutlich zu erweitern. Ich tauschte den Wohnwagen gegen den Flieger, bereiste Länder, wechselte Kontinente. Doch intuitiv zog es mich immer wieder in die Nähe von Rom. Hier erhoffte ich insgeheim DAS zu finden, wonach ich mich schon so lange sehnte: Ein historisches Weingut, mit Blick auf das Meer, eingebettet in friedvollster, unberührter Natur, mit Trauben, die das Potential haben, Wein-Geschichte zu schreiben.

Der entscheidende Tipp eines alten, italienischen Professors führte letztendlich zum Ziel. Als mir dieser einen Rotwein einschenkte, der wegen seines hohen Maßstabs an geologischen Voraussetzungen weltweit nur auf der Terra Nera „Insel“ angebaut werden kann, wusste ich beim ersten Tropfen: Ich bin angekommen! Angekommen – bei einem Geschmackserlebnis, nach dem ich über ein Jahrzehnt akribisch gesucht hatte.

Ein weiterer Glücksmoment war, als ich Terra Nera das erste Mal sah. Wie sich mit jedem Meter diese hügeligen, teilweise dicht bewaldeten, eine Million Quadratmeter mehr und mehr vor meinen Augen ausbreiteten. Ich bekam tiefen Respekt vor der Aufgabe, die hier auf mich wartete.

Im Jahr 2001 erstand ich die ersten 48 ha Terra Nera Land, auf dessen Zentralhügel ein altes Bauernhaus thront. Mit viel Einfühlungsvermögen und Verständnis für die Anliegen der heimischen Bauern, aber auch durch sensibles Verhandlungsgeschick, habe ich im Laufe der Jahre die ganze Terra Nera „Insel“ von 100 ha erworben.

Dieses Geschenk, Terra Nera gefunden zu haben, empfinde ich als so kostbar, dass es für mich zu meinem Herzensprojekt auf Lebenszeit geworden ist.

– Christian Sprenger

Es gab viel zu tun…

Packen wir’s an!

Von der Idee bis zur Umsetzung folgten viele und sehr langwierige Schritte der Vorbereitungen. Die größten Hürden bestanden darin, all die notwendigen Genehmigungen (u.a. für die erforderlichen Erdbewegungen) einzuholen. Auch beim Kauf der Weinrechte für die gut 28 ha Neupflanzungen, bedurfte es viel Unternehmergeist, diese überhaupt erteilt, sowie bewilligt zu bekommen.

Mit dem obersten Ziel, auf Terra Nera ein Premium Weingut entstehen zu lassen, musste zunächst die gesamte Infrastruktur der „Insel“ neu geschaffen und stabilisiert werden. Vor allem auch, um dadurch mehr geeignete Fläche für den Weinanbau zu schaffen. Für diesen wichtigen Schritt waren jahrelange, groß angelegte, aufwändige und kräftezehrende Baumaßnahmen erforderlich.

Schritt für Schritt entstand so auf Terra Nera in liebe- und mühevoller Kleinarbeit eine Welt für sich.

In weiten Strecken wurde der ungleichmäßige Inselboden begradigt, um acht Parzellen arrondieren und bewirtschaften zu können. Die gesamten Weinberge sind von 2006 bis 2011 mit Rebsorten wie Sangiovese, aber auch Syrah, Cabernet Sauvignon und Cabernet Franc neu angelegt.

Über 300 sonnenhungrige Olivenbäume und Zypressen zieren Terra Nera zusätzlich mit ihren gehaltvollen Früchten. Zwei 100 m tiefe Brunnen gewährleisten die Wasserversorgung, die komplett unterirdisch und computergesteuert selbst den hintersten Weinstock ausreichend versorgt.

Mit den Steinen, die durch die Graduierung des Bodens gewonnen wurden, ließen sich auf ökologisch sinnvolle Art und Weise Straßen und Zäune im landestypisch toskanischen Stil erbauen.

Die gesamten Leitungen der Energieversorgung erfolgte gleichfalls unterirdisch. Ohne optisch störende Hochspannungsmasten taucht jeder Terra Nera Besucher schnell in die atemberaubende, toskanische Natur ein und geniesst in vollen Zügen den freien, fantastischen Blick, auch Richtung Meer.

Von der Suche nach einem entsprechenden Objekt, bis zum heutigen Tag, Terra Nera naturnah zu bewirtschaften, um die wurzelechten Reben in ein gut gezogenes Alter zu bringen, sind mehr als 25 Jahre vergangen.

Indem der eigene Funke für die Vision, Terra Nera als Weinanbaugebiet wiederzubeleben, auch auf die Verantwortlichen übersprang, erhielt dieses Projekt dementsprechende, wichtige Unterstützung vor Ort.

All dies wäre in der heutigen Zeit, nicht nur in der Toskana, in dieser Art und Größenordnung, undenkbar.